Indian Summer

We had the most glorious Columbus Day weekend. The weather was warm and dry and sunny. We went to Maine. We roamed the Fryeburg Fair. We hit the trail.And I wore my recently completed Soay.
I love this sweater, and finishing it felt like a good dose of lightening the load. It had been stuck in a bag kicked into the corner for most of the summer. Other projects were begun and completed, and this poor thing just lay there waiting for me to pull it out and finish her up. Why? I honestly think it was because I’ve never done an icord bind off, and I was too busy to bother to figure it out. That, and I really didn’t need this sweater then. Now, however, is the perfect time for just a little, soft, sweet, wool. Soaking this baby felt like washing away the neglect and grime of a long and fun summer. And I have a pretty neat layer to button up. Phew.

Now I’m onto something new. I’m swatching for Veronik Avery’s Zipped Vest. And I have another challenge ahead. I’m going to try to turn a zipper into a knitable object. Hmmmmn. What a concept! I think I’m up for the challenge.

About Sally

knitting stories from me
This entry was posted in Hiking, Knitting, sweaters, yarn and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Indian Summer

  1. I loooove that sweater. Well done!

Leave a Reply

