Baffled Again

On Saturday the Ladies Of The Knit were all together for a taping of our podcast. We had delicious red velvet cupcakes that Susan made, and iced coffee and new patterns and books to look at. It was fun. And then, while we were taping, Kris took out her knitting, and I almost grabbed it out of her hands. She was working on an Autumn Scarf by Annie Lee. I needed to start that baby immediately. I had a skein of yarn burning a hole in my stash and I cast on the second they left my house.

And I was really flying on this thing. I mean, this was crack for knitters. I loved it, loved it, loved it. I kept holding it up and ooohing over it, and holding next to different colors and swooning about how great it looked.

We went for a long car ride on Sunday to climb Mt. Cardigan in New Hampshire, and I was thrilled because the whole way up, and the whole way back, I knit knit knit. (in the middle we had a wonderful hike. Insert random hike photos here:)

But, Monday morning the bloom was off the rose, so to speak. the gorgeous hand-dyed yarn began to -gasp- pool.

At first I thought I could perhaps live with it. And I then I thought it was maybe a little glitch with that small portion of the skein, and it would only add visual interest. But it kept pooling away, so I went to The Knitter’s Guide To Hand-Dyed and Variegated Yarn, which I’ve read before. And it couldn’t be more clear. It shows very clearly in the first pages of the book that yarn dyed in this manner WILL pool. Why didn’t I think of that?

This is such a beautiful skein of yarn. It will make a nifty pair of socks. But, if anyone knows of a fun shawlette pattern that has a stitch pattern that highlights variegated colors, send it my way. Preferably semi-circular. Or crescent shaped.

In the meantime, I guess I’ll be frogging.

About Sally

knitting stories from me
This entry was posted in Hiking, Knitting, yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baffled Again

  1. I’m glad my book helped…a little. Check out the semi-circular design that is free on my web site. It will highlight and not pool with any colorway, especially good for “Active” ones. http://www.lornamiserdesigns.com

Leave a Reply

