Where I spent Hurricane Irene

This is where I spent Hurricane Irene:

And, just in case I haven’t tempted you enough:

Not too shabby, eh? It’s not everyone that gets to evacuate a log cabin in the woods by a beautiful lake because of tornado warnings, and finds shelter in a Yarn Shop. And not just any Yarn Shop, a gorgeous, natural, delicious, toasty, unique Yarn Shop. Hilltop Handspun, in Lovell, Maine. Lucy Rogers is my sister-in-law, but I wouldn’t need to be related to love her yarn.

And what came out of my day in the torrential rain and a subsequent long car ride to Baxter State Park?

What is it?

It’s a Floofy skirt by Jill Stover (ravelry link). This was the funnest project. Kind of mindless knitting, but with the added fun of switching colors at random and irregular intervals. And I think it looks great. More photos to come on the appropriate, teenage model. This might take a while though, as she is way too busy settling into High School.

Here is a picture of my brood on Tuesday morning:

but this one really tells the story:

One child is thrilled to be starting High School, one child is despondent about starting Middle School. Too bad you can’t blend your offspring the way Lucy blends her yarn dyes, then we could magically have the perfect balance of enthusiasm and trepidation.

Oh well, I’ll just have to start another project and knit my way through the emotional upheaval around my house. What is it they say? Keep Calm And Knit ON. That about sums it up.

About Sally

knitting stories from me
This entry was posted in families, Hiking, Knitting, yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Where I spent Hurricane Irene

  1. Ann Williams says:

    Great blog!!! Yes, you’re lucky to land at Lucy’s for your evacuation–endless ideas and beautiful colors to play with. Hope your daughter likes the skirt!

Leave a Reply

