Knitting on Mountaintops

When I told Cam about Knit In Public Day, which was actually a week this year, he reminded me that last year I Knit in Public on the top of Mt. Adams and in the dining room of the Madison Hut . He said,”Mom, I think you need to do a series of Knitting On Mountaintops.” And so, it begins:

A week ago We set out on our fourth annual Fathers’ Day trip to a High Hut in the White Mountains, and I had a handy project tucked into my pack. As you can see, the weather on the summit of Mt. Webster was interesting and the black flies were insistent, but the knitting was accompanied by the most lovely view.

We also had the most entertaining snack. The kids gave me a freeze dried Ice Cream Sandwich for Mother’s day, 
and we sampled the delicacy quickly before fleeing the flies:

We had fewer flies and better lichen on Mt. Jackson


but the wild flowers distracted me from knitting.
Near the end of the day’s trek we walked through a high bog between Mt. Jackson and Mt. Pierce (Clinton), which was more like a wild flower meadow, something I’ve never seen before.

We spent the night in the Mizpah Spring Hut. It was grand; we had the annual tasty turkey dinner, and slept amid fewer snorers and sleep talkers than in years past. Fathers’ Day morning was bright and cool and glorious.

and we rambled on to Mt. Pierce (Formerly known as Clinton) 
I have taken a page from Kate Davies and abandoned fleece in favor of faithful wool. Mark gave me the hiking sweater I’m wearing in the picture; I love how warm, windproof, packable, and handsome it is. Kate is surely right when she says fleece is “an insult to sheep”. No more insulting sheep from me.
And now I have come to the sad part of this entry. I suppose it is inevitable that all parents reach a point where they can no longer keep up with their children.

Sadly, we have reached this point.

The top of Mt. Eisenhower was amazing, breathtaking and exhilarating. However, there was no knitting to be had. sometimes practicality has to win out over passion.
Our stumble down the Edmands’ Path was rather smooth, and at least we have loads of bright images to carry with us
back to reality.

About Sally

knitting stories from me
This entry was posted in Hiking, Knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting on Mountaintops

  1. Diane Compton says:

    Hi Sally
    Seth introduced me to your blog. My needles survived the move to Maine but have been collecting dust ever since. I can’t wait to head off island to replenish my wool supply and pick up a pattern. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Sally says:

      Oh Diane,
      I had no idea that Seth had looked at the blog! How Funny. Knitting is such a great pleasure and riddle and productive activity. Have fun. I loved Seth’s dialogues from Maine, which I attributed to you. I especially loved the one about the neighbor who has a special wave for you, ever since you went to his mother’s funeral. That is so true, in Maine or Newton, MA. We have a podcast going: ladiesoftheknit.wordpress.com. If you need something to listen to while you knit, check it out.

Leave a Reply

