Cam’s Household Hints #1

Happy New Year!

Here is something else that happened during the holidays: Cam turned twelve. That’s a big number. I’m not really prepared, but I guess I don’t have any choice but to supply food and ever larger clothing. Bummer.
He is turning into something of a domestic genius, so I thought I would post some of his tips here. This is a piece of advice he is handing out these days, and one that I have actually taken.
“If there is a room in your house that you think needs painting, match the color to your favorite T shirt. Here’s how it works. Take your mother to the hardware store while you are wearing the shirt. If she tries to pick a color a couple of shades lighter, tell her to stop wimping out. If you are going with pink, it might as well be a Manly Pink. Make sure it matches exactly.

After the room is painted it will look great. Of course it will, remember, you painted it the color of your favorite T shirt. You are going to love it. Trust me.¬†And if other people get annoyed with you, you can put your shirt on and blend right into the walls. Perfect camouflage. (get it? Cam-ou-flage)”

So there you have it. Good advice from a newly minted twelve year old. I have to go now. I have some driving to do, some resolutions to make, and some risotto to stir. Then I get to cast on a new project, the first of 2012. I’m off.

About Sally

knitting stories from me
This entry was posted in Household Hints, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cam’s Household Hints #1

  1. Martha says:

    Years ago I took a decorating class at a local community collage. The instructor said to use colors from your closet. Cam’s a smart man. And the color is lovely. Glad you listened to your domestic genius. He’s welcome at my house anytime. I have several rooms that need better color choices than linen white. A great story. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

